Skip to content

In Which I Have Mad Librarian Love

January 31, 2011

Anyone in the library field knows about the superfun times involved in collections management.  In order for collections to stay relevent, we hafta do this thing, sometimes called “weeding” or “culling.”  It’s when you get rid of the instructional VHS tapes from the 1980s, the macrame handbooks, outdated sex-ed.  You get it.  I don’t really have to do this with books because I’m an archivist (we have other processes for permanently discarding collection material.  It’s called deaccessioning).  Staff and patrons do sometimes have incipant hoarding tendencies great difficulty in discarding things like books and tapes. In my experience it’s best to remove these materials in opaque bags or in the dead of night.  Otherwise you’ll have That Volunteer who doesn’t want you to throw away trashy novels from the 1970s (which haven’t been checked out since the 1970s) because someone, someday, might want to read them.  In the spirit of this, I give you one of my favorite blogs:

Awful Library Books

No comments yet

Leave a comment